Bi-Annual Safety Report Reveals Top Grade Maryland Hospitals

Posted on

Baltimore Medical Malpractice Lawyers weigh in on top rated Maryland hospitals. Twice a year, the non-profit company, Leapfrog, releases its safety ratings report for hospitals across the country. The company uses a range of sources to measure safety, including the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Leapfrog Hospital Survey. While only 32 percent of the 2,600 hospitals across the country were graded, 19 hospitals in Maryland received either an A or B grade, and not one hospital in the state received an F grade.

According to Leapfrog, the rating system is based on the number of errors, accidents, injuries, and infections that were found in each general acute-care hospital in the United States. The safety grade includes 28 measures that are combined to produce a letter grade of A, B, C, D, or F. The grade reflects the hospital’s performance when it comes to avoiding medical errors and keeping patients safe. The president and CEO of Leapfrog commented that it is important hospitals be held accountable, particularly because hospital errors and infections are the third leading cause of fatality in this country. Every elected official, including city councilors, senators, and even the President should support efforts that will keep patients safe and prevent medical errors.

The states that received the highest percentage of A grades included New Jersey, Oregon, Virginia, Massachusetts, and Texas. Connecticut, Nebraska, Washington D.C., Delaware, and North Dakota received the lowest percentage of A grades. In Maryland, there were eight hospitals that received A grades, 11 that received a B grades, 14 that received C grades, and seven were given D grades. The following Maryland hospitals received a grade of A or B:

Hospitals with A Grades:

  • Anne Arundel Medical Center, Annapolis
  • Greater Baltimore Medical Center, Baltimore
  • Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Baltimore
  • MedStar St. Mary’s Hospital, Leonardtown
  • Peninsula Regional Medical Center, Salisbury
  • The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore
  • University of Maryland Charles Regional Medical Center, La Plata
  • University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center, Towson

Hospitals with B Grades:

  • Adventist HealthCare Shady Grove Medical Center, Rockville
  • Adventist HealthCare Washington Adventist Hospital, Takoma Park
  • Carroll Hospital Center, Westminster
  • Fort Washington Medical Center, Fort Washington
  • Frederick Memorial Hospital, Frederick
  • Garrett Regional Medical Center, Oakland
  • Howard County General Hospital, Columbia
  • Mercy Medical Center, Baltimore
  • Suburban Hospital, Bethesda
  • University of Maryland Medical Center. Baltimore
  • Western Maryland Regional Medical Center, Cumberland

While no hospitals in Maryland received an F grade, there were seven that received a D grade, including Bon Secours Hospital, Holy Cross Germantown Hospital, Holy Cross Hospital, MedStar Southern Maryland Hospital Center, Meritus Medical Center, St. Agnes Hospital, and University of Maryland Prince George’s Hospital Center.

Baltimore Medical Malpractice Lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton Represent Victims of Medical Negligence

If your health and safety were jeopardized while you were in the hospital under the care of a healthcare provider, you are urged to contact the Baltimore medical malpractice lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton. We will thoroughly investigate the details of your case and determine whether the hospital was negligent in any way. Our experienced legal team will protect your rights and seek the maximum financial compensation you deserve for your injuries. To schedule a free, confidential consultation, call us today at 800-547-4LAW (4529) or contact us online.

Our offices are located in Baltimore, Columbia, Glen Burnie, and Towson, allowing us to represent medical malpractice victims in Maryland, including those in Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Montgomery County, Maryland’s Western Counties, Prince George’s County, Queen Anne’s County, Southern Maryland, and the Eastern Shore, as well as the communities of Catonsville, Essex, Halethorpe, Middle River, Rosedale, Gwynn Oak, Brooklandville, Dundalk, Pikesville, Nottingham, Windsor Mill, Lutherville, Timonium, Sparrows Point, Ridgewood, and Elkridge.